4 stages of cognitive development in the children

In 1950 French psychologist Jean Piaget introduced how theory on stages of cognitive development in children. Over the years many more researches have been conducted that confirm his theory. As a parent, it is important that you become aware of these stages so you gauge if your child’s growth is at par and also use each of these stages to fine tune their cognitive abilities for a better future.

4 stages of cognitive development:

  1. Sensorimotor Stage (birth to 2 years): Here kids learn about the world around through their senses and by experimenting with the objects around.
  2. Preoperational Stage (2 to 7 years): Now the memory and imagination develop where kids understand things symbolically.They understand linearity of time as past and future.
  3. Concrete Stage (7 to 11 years): This is where they develop the ability to connect with the world around. They understand other’s perspectives can be different and also, get in touch with their own feelings.
  4. Formal Operational Stage (11 years and older): Now they develop their own problem-solving skills and have a view to plan their future and take responsibilities

During these stages observe your child and see if he or she is showing these signs at the right stages. Introduce Omega 3 at the earliest stages so that their cognitive development is smooth and natural.  

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published

Wishlist Products

You have no items in wishlist.